Got me an iPad2

It has been an interesting couple of months to say the least….and quite a while since I have updated the blog. Right now I am trying out the WordPress app on the iPad, and this is a test entry, so to speak.

My previous (tech) acquisition was the Blackberry PlayBook 32gb at a fantastic price from one of our local online retailers. It was very nice. Awesome screen resolution. Loved the tethering (aka Blackberry Bridge). Perfect size for traveling. Excellent camera for both photos and video. But alas, needed some cash, so put it up for sale on Gumtree.

After a couple of weeks on the site, got a deal to swop for a iPad 2….and took it! Note the primary reason is that the iPad is more liquid and retains value for longer.

After having the iPad for a couple of weeks, I must say I am fairly ambivalent. The app selection is excellent and is definitively the drawing card for this tablet. I find the OS dated. It has been around since the first iPhone and is fairly boring. But the speed of the tablet in general is impressive. Video quality is ok, photos are fairly crappy especially after having the PlayBook.

But for some reason I am playing more with the iPad than the PlayBook – although I must confess that I only had the PlayBook for a week after updating it to OS2 (for about two months before that). We will see what the future holds in though…I see Archos has been talking of a new tablet….which may sport a quad core processor and be thinner than the iPad! Will have to keep updated on that story.

For now, I am prisoner to iOS, the AppStore and iTunes.

For now.

20120414-195212.jpg

Leave a Reply

